Bulgaria is divided into four major geographic regions. The most northerly is the plateau of the Danube, which rises from the shore of the Danube River to the foothills of the east. The Balkan Mountains are the second region. They are highest in the western part of the country and gradually diminish as they extend across the country to the Black Sea. The third region is the valley drained by the Maritsa River. Finally, south of the Maritsa River valley are the Rhodope Mountains, highest in the Balkan Peninsula, which form the border between Bulgaria and Greece.
The plateau of the Danube has a continental climate, with hot summers and cold winters. The valley drained by the Maritsa River, enjoys a Mediterranean climate, with mild, rainy winters and warm, dry summers.
Total population is 8,612,757 (World Factbook, July 1996 est.). The most populated cities in Bulgaria are Sofija (the capital), Plovdiv and Varna.
Stations from the IDMP Network measure both daylight and solar radiation.

Clock Time: GMT+2. Summer time shift (GMT+3), from last Sunday in March,
to Saturday before last Sunday in October.

Bulgarian National
Committee on Illumination

Federation of Sci. and Techn. Organisations in Bulgaria
Rakovskistr. 108 (POB 431)
1000 Sofia
Tel: +359 2 8983 79
Fax: +359 2 879360
CIE on the Internet.


More information is available at Amadeus or the Electric Library

Back to Country Info Main Page