The republic consists of several distinct physical regions. In the western part of the country are the Bohemian Highlands, bordered, on the northeast by the Sudeten Mountains, on the northwest by the Ore Mountains (Krusne hory), and on the west by the Bohemian Forest (Cesky les) and Sumava Mountains. The Moravian Lowlands occupy the eastern section of the republic. The highest elevation is Snezka peak (1,602 m) in the Krknose Mountains (part of the Sudeten range).
The Czech Republic lies within a comparatively temperate zone, marked by a transition from a maritime to a continental climate and by substantial variations of temperature and precipitation, depending on elevation. The mean average temperature ranges from 8°C to 10°C. Winters are generally cold, with many days of subfreezing weather. Summers are moderately warm: maximum temperatures reach about 27°C. Annual precipitation ranges from 450 to 1,030 mm.
Total population is 10,321,120 (World Factbook, July 1996 est.). The principal cities, in addition to Praha, are Brno (the traditional capital of Moravia), Ostrava, and Plzen. Usti nad Labem, Liberec, Hradec Kralove, and Ceske Budejovice are important manufacturing centers.
Stations from the IDMP Network measure both daylight and solar radiation.

Clock Time: GMT+1. Summer time shift (GMT+2), from last Sunday in March,
to Saturday before last Sunday in October.

Czech National Committee of the CIE
c/o TESLA Holesovice a.s.
Jankovcova 15
170 04 Praha 7
Czech Republic
Tel: +42 2 876776
Fax: +42 2 6671 0062
CIE on the Internet.


More information is available at Amadeus or the Electric Library

Back to Country Info Main Page