The Principality of Liechtenstein is in Western Europe, bordered on the south and west by Switzerland and on the east by Austria. It is divided into two traditional regions, the Upper and Lower Country. The western portion, the Lower Country, is the flat plain of the Rhine. Most of Liechtenstein, however, is the mountainous Upper Country, where the Alpine ranges run east-west. The highest point in the country is Vorder-Grauspitz (2,599 m), in the south. Liechtenstein's 40 sq km of remaining forests are protected in preserves.
Annual rainfall varies according to elevation, from an average of about 1,000 mm in the lowlands to about 1,980 mm in the mountains. Temperatures are mild--about -1°C in January and 19°C in July.
Total population is 31,122 (World Factbook, July 1996 est.). Almost the entire population lives in the communities near the Rhine, with about one-sixth of the total in Vaduz, the capital and largest city.
Stations from the IDMP Network measure both daylight and solar radiation.

Clock Time: GMT+1. Summer time shift (GMT+2), from last Sunday in March,
to Saturday before last Sunday in October.


More information is available at Amadeus or the Electric Library

Back to Country Info Main Page