The Republic of Macedonia is a small, landlocked country in the Balkans, bounded on the north by Yugoslavia, on the east by Bulgaria, on the south by Greece, and on the west by Albania. It consists mostly of highlands and mountains, with elevations reaching 2,751 m in the Korab range on the Albanian border. The mountains are separated by tectonic depressions occupied by the Vardar River valley and by a number of lakes, the largest of which are Ohrid, Prespa and Dojran.
The climate is Mediterranean, the summers being generally hot and dry, the winters mild, with some rain or snow. The mountain slopes are covered by mixed forest and shrubs to an elevation of 2,000 m and by steppe meadows above that level.
Total population is 2,104,035 (World Factbook, July 1996 est.). Major cities in addition to Skopje are Tetovo (1991 pop., 180,654), Kumanovo (135,529), and Bitola (122,173).
Stations from the IDMP Network measure both daylight and solar radiation.

Clock Time: GMT+1. Summer time shift (GMT+2), from last Sunday in March,
to Saturday before last Sunday in October.


More information is available at Amadeus or the Electric Library

Back to Country Info Main Page