Maltamawl'-tuhMalta is a country composed of a group of islands lying 93 km south of Sicily in the Mediterranean Sea between Italy and North Africa. The islands are Malta (the largest), Gozo, Comino, and the uninhabited rocks of Comminotto and Filfla. Dingli Cliffs, the highest point, rises to 253 m. Because there are no rivers, the vegetation, which includes species indigenous to both Italy and North Africa, is sparse in some areas.
Malta has a Mediterranean climate. Summers are warm, with an average temperature of 25°C in July; winters are mild, with an average temperature of 13°C in January. Rainfall averages about 510 mm annually, with about three-quarters falling during the winter. The islands are often exposed to violent winds.
Total population is 375,576 (World Factbook, July 1996 est.). Malta's population has been increasing rapidly, giving it one of the highest population densities in the world. Valletta, the chief city and capital, is located on the island of Malta.
Stations from the IDMP Network measure both daylight and solar radiation.

Clock Time: GMT+1. Summer time shift (GMT+2), from last Sunday in March,
to Saturday before last Sunday in October.


More information is available at Amadeus or the Electric Library

Back to Country Info Main Page