The Republic of Slovenia is a small European country bounded on the west by Italy and the Adriatic Sea, on the north by Austria, on the east by Hungary, and on the south by Croatia. Slovenia is a mountainous land. In the north are the Julian and Karawanken Alps, and in the south, the Dinaric Alps. The highest elevation, Mount Triglav (2,864 m) is in the Julian range. The climate is moderate, with mean temperatures of 0°C to -2°C in January, and 18°C to 19°C in July. Precipitation varies between 800 mm and 1,200 mm per year, although it can exceed 2,000 mm in some locations.
Total population is 1,951,443 (World Factbook, July 1996 est.). Its capital is Ljubljana. Major cities, in addition to Ljubljana, are Maribor (134,979), an industrial town on the Drava River, Kranj (51,602), and Celje (50,155; all 1995).
Stations from the IDMP Network measure both daylight and solar radiation.

Clock Time: GMT+1. Summer time shift (GMT+2), from last Sunday in March,
to Saturday before last Sunday in October.

Slovenski Nacionalni Komite CIE
pri Slov. drustvu za razsvetljavo
Vetrinjska ul. 16/I
62000 Maribor
Tel: +368 62 27 921
CIE on the Internet.


More information is available at Amadeus or the Electric Library

Back to Country Info Main Page