Yugoslavia consists of Serbia and Montenegro. Northern Serbia (Vojvodina) lies on the Pannonian Plain, with the isolated massif of Fruska Gora (539 m) on the south bank of the Danube River. Central and southern Serbia are mountainous, lying within the ranges of the Dinaric Alps, the North Albanian Alps, the Sar Mountains in the west and south, and the Balkan Mountains in the east. Most of Montenegro is covered by the Dinaric Alps, which reach a height of 2,522 m on Mount Durmitor. To the southwest lies the Montenegrin karst plateau. The Montenegrin mountains have coniferous and mixed forests; shrub vegetation grows along the coast. About one-quarter of Serbia consists of woodlands.
The coastal region by and large has a mild climate, with hot, dry summers and winters rarely reaching freezing. The interior highlands have extremely cold winters, with heavy rains in early summer; the summers are generally cool in the mountains. The Pannonian Plain has cold winters and hot, dry summers. Temperatures in the lowlands average 0°C to -1°C in January, and 18°C to 23°C in July. Annual precipitation is 500-800 mm on the plains, but as much as 1,000 mm in the mountains.
Total population is 10,614,558 (World Factbook, July 1996 est.). Major cities, in addition to Beograd, are Novi Sad (the capital of Vojvodina; 1993 pop., 179,626), Nis (1991 pop., 175,391), Pristina (the capital of Kosovo; 1991 pop., 155,499), Subotica (1991 pop., 100,386), and Podgorica (the capital of Montenegro; 1991 pop., 118,059).
Stations from the IDMP Network measure both daylight and solar radiation.

Clock Time: GMT+1. Summer time shift (GMT+2), from last Sunday in March,
to Saturday before last Sunday in October.


More information is available at Amadeus or the Electric Library

Back to Country Info Main Page